From TEK Percussion Database
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Nathan Daughtrey

General Info

Year of Published: 2005
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Level: Advanced
Duration: 00:08:20
Cost: Score and Parts $62.00 | Score Only $18.00


Movement 1: Improvisation
Movement 2: Meditation
Movement 3: Revelation


Player 1: Glockenspiel
Player 2: Xylophone & crotales
Player 3: Vibraphone
Player 4: Vibraphone
Player 5: Chimes & small Bass Drum & 4 Concert Tom-toms
Player 6: Marimba
Player 7: Marimba
Player 8: Marimba
Player 9: Marimba
Player 10: 4 Timpani
Player 11: Suspended Cymbal & Snare Drum & Tam-tam & Temple Blocks

Program Notes

3rd Place Winner of the 2005 Percussive Arts Society Composition Contest, Adaptation is reworking of Nathan Daughtrey's award-winning piece, Episodes for Solo Piano, now scored for percussion ensemble. When one goes through any life changes, one must experience several stages of adaptation. Each movement represents one of these stages:

I. Improvisation - in which you are caught off-guard and you are forced to fly by the seat of your pants
II. Meditation - in which you take time to reflect on your life and try to discover solutions
III. Revelation - in which a light bulb goes off and you find the answer.

Recent Performance

Works for Percussion by this Composer

Mallet Ensemble

Percussion Ensemble

Percussion Concerto

Percussion Ensemble with Other Instrument